The Alapaha Soil and Water Conservation District was organized on November 10, 1943, and comprises Berrien, Clinch, Cook, Echols, Lanier, and Lowndes Counties. Two District Supervisors from each county serve on a 12-member Board of Directors. Each county has an elected and appointed Supervisor serving a 4 and 2 year term respectfully. 

By written agreement with and at the request of the Alapaha District, NRCS provides professional conservationists to help implement the District's long-range conservation programs. The Alapaha District channels the services of NRCS to cooperators, individuals, groups, and units of government - and sets priorities for the implementation of conservation practices.

Copy of Alapaha River Lakeland.JPG






Supervisor Tim Hughes – Echols County

Supervisor David Fields – Lowndes County

Supervisor Jake Price, Vice Chairman – Berrien County

Supervisor Paul Folsom – Lanier County

Supervisor Harold (Hal) Simpson – Cook County


Chairman O. C. Prince – Echols County

Supervisor William (B) Darsey – Lanier County

Supervisor Derrell (Derry) Bennett – Cook County

Not Pictured:

Supervisor Roy Crumbley – Clinch County

Supervisor Tim Swilley – Lowndes County

Supervisor Carlos Vickers – Berrien County

Supervisor Vacancy  - Clinch County


District Personnel

district services


No-Till Drill

through Seven Rivers RC&D

Meeting Information

The Alapaha Conservation District meets the second Wednesday of every month at 9:00 a.m. at the Lowndes County Extension Office. To access previous meeting minutes and documents, please click below.


contact alapaha soil & water conservation district

Emilie Simpson, District Program Assistant


Phone: 229-232-3460

Name *